Text Size
Services Medical Services Pharmacy Pharmacy Residency Program

Pharmacy Practice Residency Program

EMRMC pharmacists serve as early and advanced pharmacy practice experience preceptors  for institutional practice for pharmacy ASHPAccreditatedLogostudents enrolled in Colleges of Pharmacy within and outside the state of Kentucky. Ephraim McDowell Regional Medical Center offers an ASHP accredited  Post Graduate Year 1 (PGY1) pharmacy residency training program in community hospital practice.

In July 2010, Ephraim McDowell Regional Medical Center initiated its Pharmacy Residency Program. In April of 2011 the residency program underwent an onsite survey for accreditation through the American Society of Health System Pharmacists (ASHP). In June of 2011, we graduated our first resident and initiated 2 new residents for the 2011-2012 program. In September 2011, EMRMC PGY 1 Pharmacy Residency Program was granted ASHP accreditation for a 6 year term.


This is a 12-month residency program that begins with orientation during the last 2 weeks of June. The goal of the PGY1 program is to create skilled clinical pharmacists who practice as integral members of multidisciplinary patient care teams in community hospital settings. Residents will gain the skills and experience needed to achieve best practice goals and outcomes. Pharmacy residents will be prepared to assume positions as patient care clinicians, to serve as experiential adjunct faculty with a college of pharmacy or to pursue PGY2 training.

In addition, to learn more about the ASHP Visiting Leaders's Program that was hosted in May 2012, please click here.

Application Requirements: 

Ephraim McDowell will be utilizing PhORCAS (Pharmacy Online Residency Centralized Application Service) for all residency candidate applications. Site specific information in addition to PhORCAS is listed below. Instructions for application submission are included in the EMRMC application. For additional information, please contact the Directory of Pharmacy Residency Program. 

Required Site specific information:

Residency Application deadline:  January 6th

Number of Positions:  2

Kentucky Licensure


PGY1 Required Learning Experiences

  • Internal Medicine
  • Infectious Disease
  • Cardiology
  • Critical Care
  • Emergency Medicine

PGY1 Required Longitudinal Studies

  • Pediatrics
  • Hospital Practice
  • Pharmacy Management

PGY1 Elective Opportunities

  • Behavioral Medicine
  • Women's Health
  • Ambulatory Care
  • Informatics
  • Geriatrics
  • Endocrinology
  • Nephrology
  • Surgery
  • Advanced Critical Care 
  • Oncology
  • Pharmacy Practice Change or Service Expansion



    Michelle DeLuca Fraley, PharmD
    Director of Pharmacy Residency Program
    Clinical Pharmacist
    Department of Pharmacy

    Ephraim McDowell Regional Medical Center
    217 South Third Street
    Danville, KY 40422

    (859)239-6706 fax

    This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it